The County Campuses

County Campuses

“Like a child, Piedmont TEC went through many stages.  A child must learn to crawl before it can walk.” – Dr. Lex Walters, 1990

According to 25 Years of Service, 1966-1991, a history of Piedmont Technical College, the idea for a technical education center in the Piedmont area germinated in Abbeville County, an indication of the importance of all the counties in the college’s service area.  In 1966, TEC’s governing body, called the Area Commission,  included representatives from five counties—Greenwood, Abbeville, Laurens, McCormick, and Saluda.

 The Area Commission was to represent the Piedmont Technical Education and Training District, which also included Edgefield and Newberry counties. Laurens was the first county to have its own “center,” which opened in 1991 with Abbeville, Edgefield,  and Newberry following in 1995, and McCormick and Saluda in 1998.  As indicated in these photographs, the centers were modest in size, but they would grow as the college expanded its available programs.  More to come on county campuses…